Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

WEEKLY INSPIRATION

Leave a comment

On Saturday 23rd of May 2015, the Republic of Ireland became the first country in the word to introduce marriage equality by popular vote.
Ireland says yes
It has been a long and emotional campaign. It was a personal issue, a civil rights issue. I find find inconceivable that in 2015 people have to fight to have the same rights as everyone else. Imagine if you had to fight for the right to education, or water, simply because that right wasn’t automatically extended to you. Why would I be allowed to do something that other people are not allowed to? How can I expect to teach my children to love and respect everyone equally when we as a nation don’t do it? What kind of message are we sending?

This issue was very important to me. I want my children to grow up in a society where everyone is treated equally, without any buts, or as long as’s. No one is better or worse than anyone else. Equality benefits everyone and damages no one.

Yes Equality

It was also very personal. My sister-on-law is engaged to a wonderful woman. They are my family and my children’s aunties. They love them. No, they adore them, no more or no less than their other heterosexual uncles and aunts. They are loving, caring, fabulous human beings and yet they weren’t allowed to become a family in their own country. Shameful!

It is a human rights issue and I am so proud to have been part of this historic moment. My heart is full of joy and love and my face has been covered in tears for a lot of this week, first in anticipation and then with relief and happiness.

The people of Ireland have been amazing. I am so inspired.  They have been brave, they have supported each other fighting for what is right. There is no THEM and US, just US fighting for human rights, for a better country. for an equal future for everyone.

Irish poeple have traveled long distances to be home in time to make a change in history. The hashtag #hometovote in Twitter had me in tears
.#Hometovote
I am just so happy and proud to be living in Ireland and to be part of this historical event.
Still very emotional. I will be for a while.

Love has no labels.

Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

