Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

HOW TO COVER YOUR OLD PLANT POTS

Leave a comment

While attempting to tidy up my utility room last week, I came across few plant pots that I got good few years ago. They were looking too tired and battered to use them around the house so I decided to update them. I am always getting material for different projects and I always end up with odd cuts and bits and pieces that I can never bring myself to throw out, so I decided this was the perfect project for them.
OrganisingChaosBlog - how to cover a pot
For this project I used some decoupage medium as it is very easy to use, it dries quickly and it works as a water resistant sealant which means.

Apply the decoupage glue to the pot and start covering it with the material. Don’t worry when  the decoupage medium goes through the material, this is meant to happen. Once you have cover the sides, cut the top and bottom about 1 cm from the edge, apply your glue to the surface and fold the material in, smoothing with your fingers. Once all is dry, apply another 2 coats of decoupage medium all over the pot to make it water resistant. OrganisingChaosBlog - how to cover a pot
Once all the material is attached and the top and bottom, cut a circle the size of the bottom of your pot and glue it in (you can use any glue for this).
OrganisingChaosBlog - how to cover a pot
Covering your flower pots is  lovely cost-effective way of making things match in your house and create a coordinated scheme.

And no, this is not a new plant, it just some cuttings from my Wandering Jew one. Not cheating, just working the system 😉

Have a great day,

Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

