Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

BULGAR WHEAT WITH AVOCADO AND EGG SALAD

Leave a comment

I love salads. We eat loads of them during the hotter months both as main and sides.In the winter months, we tend to eat less salads as I I find myself put off by the idea of eating something cold, so I have been trying out different warm salads.
Bulgar Wheat with avocado and egg salad - so fresh
This is one of my favourites warm salads as the recipe has two of my favourite ingredients: tomatoes and avocados, and avocados and eggs are just such a lovely combination… yum!

BULGAR WHEAT WITH AVOCADO AND EGG SALAD (serves 2)
1 small cup of bulgar wheat
1 avocado
7 cherry tomatos
3 spring onions
2 medium free range egg
salt & pepper
extra virgin olive oil & balsamic vinegar
Bulgar Wheat with avocado and egg salad - ingredents
HOW TO
Bring 5.5 parts of water or stock to the boil and add 1 part of bulgar wheat. Stir, cover and simmer for 15 minutes until all the water has been absorbed. Remove from the heat and stand for 10 minutes.
Separate the grains with a fork and add the chopped tomatoes, avocado and spring onions and season. Add 1 teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil and 3 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar.
Poach the egg and drain it on some kitchen paper (there is nothing worse than a wet egg on anything) and top your salad with it.
Bulgar Wheat with avocado and egg salad
You can also use it as a side dish – it is ideal with fish.
It is so good!! Very nutritious, delicious and very filling!

Give it a go and let me know what you think.
Have a great weekend.
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

