Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

SO MY CAR DIED

Leave a comment

My car started acting funny yesterday and by funny I mean that I was lucky to be able to drive it home. The garage didn’t give us good news. It would cost us too much to fix it so we decided to thank her for her years of service and to call it a day.

Although we still have Mr B’s car, my car was the family car with the big boot that we use for long journeys so we need to replace it sooner rather than later. With that in mind, I went around few car dealerships to see what they have in offer and I was very shock at the attitudes I encountered.
Life is too short
Maybe I shouldn’t be that surprised as the car world is still pretty dominated by  men and focused on men. Even after explaining my predicament to the salesmen, that it would be my car, that I need a big boot… I was still offered small cars, I was told to get my husband to call them after work to talk about the details and they made sure to use not very technical words so not to confuse me. It was so patronising that it was nearly funny. Nearly.
~I am fluent
I got home quite furious but somehow amused, to be honest. Do women not buy cars? Do they need to be accompanied by a man to do so? Are men the only ones who know about cars? I am not saying that I know anything about cars, by the way. I don’t. But neither does Mr B or most of my male friends. The lack of knowledge doesn’t come down to gender, just lack of interest. I find it a bit tragic that there are still men like this out there, and these guys were young enough to know better!
I have 3 sides
I have decided to get all dolled up tomorrow, pretty dress, high hill, make up, the whole thing. I will then go to a different dealerships to see how I am treated. I might even get a discount! 😉

I’ll let you know how I get on.
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

