Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

HOME-MADE BEESWAX LIP BALM

6 Comments

It is the time of the year where my lips are getting very dry, sore and uncomfortable. The cold outside and the indoor heating are a bad combination for my skin in general and I tend to carry lip balms in every pocket of every coat, have one beside my bed… they are everywhere!

This year I couldn’t find any, none left in any pockets and no left overs in any bags either. I thought of buying more but I was looking for something made with beeswax as it has many properties: it moisturises and softens your skin, it protects from ultraviolet rays, it is a natural antiseptic and it is all natural. As you can imagine, the ones I found had a big enough price tag so I did a bit of research to see how difficult it would be to make my own, and it turns out, not difficult at all!

Lip balm made from beeswax
This recipe is perfect and you can make as much or as little as you need. It only takes around 10 minutes to make and it is perfect to have at home, in your bag and to give away as little tokens of appreciation (aka presents).

For a 50 ml container, you will need:
15 gr of  bees wax
30 gr of coconut oil
1 spoonful of honey
few drops of your favourite essential oil (optional)
Home-made lip balm
Place the beeswax and the coconut oil in a heatproof bowl. Place over a pot full of simmering water (baine marie) and allow the ingredients to melt. Stir the mixture and when it is all melted take it of the heat.
Home-made beeswax lip balm
Add a spoonful of honey and if you want to add any scent, add few drops of your favourite essential oil. Stir and pour on your container.
Home-made beeswax lip balm - waiting to cool down
You will need to leave the mixture to rest for about 15 minutes until it cools down and your beeswax lip balm is ready to use.

Because this balm is made with all natural ingredients, it is suitable to use in any part of your body – your hands, dry patches in your face, around your noise when you have a cold…
Home-made beeswax and honey lip balmBeeswax lip balm

Will you switch from store-bought lip balms to home-made ones?
Let me know how you get on.

Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

6 thoughts on “HOME-MADE BEESWAX LIP BALM

  1. Pingback: HOME-MADE PRESENTS | Organising Chaos

  2. Pingback: HOME-MADE VANILLA LIP SCRUB | Organising Chaos

  3. Pingback: HONEY, LEMON AND COCONUT OIL FACE MASK | Organising Chaos

  4. Pingback: HOME-MADE OATMEAL FACIAL SCRUB | Organising Chaos

  5. Pingback: MY FAVORITE SUMMER HOME-MADE BEAUTY PRODUCTS | Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

