Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

HEALTHY SCHOOL LUNCHES : PASTA SALAD

Leave a comment

Thursdays are busy. The boys have swimming class straight after school. They love it but spending an hour swimming and kicking in the water after a full day of school can be pretty exhausting, especially towards the end of the week when the energy levels are already running low. I always make sure that their lunch is a bit more carbohydrates based on these days so they have the energy to last until dinner time.
Healthy lunch boxes

As per our Breakfast Menu, they start they day with a hearty bowl of porridge and a glass of fresh orange juice so that is already a good start of the day. I wanted  something for lunch that would be tasty, healthy and that they would enjoy eating while getting an extra boost of energy to get them through the day.

Today I made the boys their favourite pasta salad with pesto, fresh cherry tomatoes and cheese. I know they will devour it! The great thing about pasta salad is that you can pretty much add anything you want to it – cream cheese and salmon; tomatoes, cucumber and peppers, anything your child likes.School lunches - pasta salad
I also included some small rice cakes covered in chocolate (I keep buying the ones for babies as they are perfect size for school lunches). My kids think that they are a mayor treat because there is chocolate on them, and they taste delicious along side the strawberries.
Healthy Lunch - strawberries and chocolate rice cakes
I hope this inspires you.
Healthy school lunch
Have a great day,
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

