Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

SPEEDY HOME-MADE LOAF OF BREAD

Leave a comment

There is nothing more homely than the smell of bread at home. I like the idea of making bread, the ritual, the kneading, the waiting… but the reality is that I don’t always have the time. There is nothing better, however, than home-made bread around this time of the year, when soup becomes my best friend. but the idea of having to start making bread 2 hours in advance discourages me most time.

After much research, I have finally found a speedy bread recipe that can be cooked along side your soup (or your dinner) so you can enjoy them all together in no time. We make this at least once a week in my house in autumn/winter. Although the originally recipe calls out for buttermilk, you can always use (organic) yoghurt instead.
Dough for breead

SPEEDY LOAF OF BREAD

– 225 gr wholemeal flour
– 225 gr plain flour
– 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
– 1 teaspoon caster sugar
– 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
– 350 ml buttermilk

Bread cooked in a pot
You can also add some seeds to the bread – it will make it extra healthy!
Preheat the oven to 220 Celsius. Put a large casserole dish with the lid into the oven. Cast iron pots are ideal for this recipe but if you don’t have one, a ceramic one will also work.
In a large bowl. mix the flours, salt, bicarbonate of soda together with your fingers. Pour into the buttermilk bringing the mixture together as a soft dough. Working quickly, shape the dough into a shallow round loaf about 4 cm in thickness.
Home-made bread and soup - perfect combination
Remove the casserole dish from the oven, dust inside with flour and put the dough inside. Cover with lid.
After 25 minutes, take the lid of and return it to the oven for another 5 minutes.

Take the bread out of the oven and enjoy it with your soup, your dinner, or just butter! It’s so good!!!

I hope you enjoy it.
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

