Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

MY FIRST WALL COLLAGE

3 Comments

The hall in my house is quite bright but it was very bland when we first moved in. It was your standard magnolia (no surprises there!), boring and no personality hall. I wanted to add personality to the walls but not necessarily with photos, I wanted something different.

I had been gathering few bits and pieces for the last couple of years so I decided to be brave and try to put together my first wall collage. My hall wall collage - OrganisingChaosBlog
Last year Mr B and I went to Co. Sligo to a wedding and on our way back, we stopped in a tiny local shop (the kind of shops that sell stamps, newspapers, noodles and crockery) where I found this metal sign with the lyrics of the song I used to sing to the boys when they were babies and whenever they are sick. I had to get it. It feels very personal to our family. The There is no place like HOME  sign was bought specifically for the hall and it was, together with the drawer, the basis of my collage.
You are my sunshine sign - OrganisingChaosBlogThere is no place like HOME
A couple of years ago I was given a print by Ruth Crean of Nice Day Designs but I couldn’t find the right place for it. Then, one day, I found this hanger (originally a jewlery hanger) and I hung the drawing with some wooden pegs covered with washi tape. I also used washi tape to hang the paper bird.
Ruth Crean printPegs covered with washi tape
I covered an embroidery hoop with a nice material that tied all colour together and added it to the mix. I am happy with the result, it works.It makes the room so much more cosy and personal.
Wall CollagePlants and birds
I now have plans for another wall collage in the spare room. I’ll start gathering my bits and pieces…
I’ll keep you posted!

Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

3 thoughts on “MY FIRST WALL COLLAGE

  1. I really like that your collage is not overly contrived and especially that it has a special meaning too. Lovely job!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 10 IDEAS TO UPDATE YOUR HOUSE ON A BUDGET | Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

