Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

SALSA VERDE RECIPE

Leave a comment

Do you have a favourite chef? I do. Mine is, without a doubt, Jamie Oliver. I like that his food is fresh, simple, manageable and healthy. I always know that I am going to enjoy whatever he cooks. We seem to like the same ingredients and the same kind of food, so it’s a safe bet for me.  The first time I saw him making Salsa Verde I knew I would love it.  Not only do I love every single ingredient for this recipe, but they are staples in our fridge.   It is so fresh, it is so quick, it is so versatile and it has the ability to transform something plain into an amazing meal – what is not to love?

The original recipe uses parsley and mint, but I prefer using coriander, basil and mint – it makes it fresher. Also, as my Chaotic Monkey is allergic to mustard (one of many allergies), I substitute it for lemon for family dinners.  Recipe for Salsa Verde
When I said quick I wasn’t joking. Put all the ingredients in your blender and blitz to your heart content. You don’t need any salt as the capers are quite salty themselves. Once you have achieved the consistency of pesto, pour into a bowl and enjoy it!

Salsa Verde can be used on chicken, red meat, fish, with roasted potatoes or roasted vegetables.  It can be used as part of a meal, in a sandwich, in a wrap, as a dip, as a rub…

It should last about a week in a jar in the fridge, but it won’t – guaranteed.
Salsa Verde with Roasted baby Potatoes
Let me know what you think.

Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

