Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

SUNDAY COMFORT FOOD

Leave a comment

We were planning a lazy Sunday. We’ve all had a very busy week – me with the boys in mid-term break and Mr B has been deep in rehearsals of The Unlucky Cabin Boy  that opens this week in Limerick (so excited!!). We wanted to just chill out, do nothing, watch some Sunday film, take it easy. But as it often happens when you have those plans, they just don’t pan out.

There were bits and pieces to be done around the house that required both of us to complete them, so we got them done. As it was raining, the boys invited some of their friends home to watch The Princess Bride (we LOVE that film in our house) so 6 boys took over the sitting room with popcorn, sweets, toys and weapons… So we continued doing our bits and pieces.
Comfort Food - Tortellini with home-made tomato sauce
There are Sundays, especially in winter, when I can spend hours cooking. I would start the cooking right after breakfast and have  3 or 4 meals cooking at once. Today wasn’t one of those days. I had things to do at home so I wanted easy meals but without sacrificing the taste or the comfort. We started the day with home-made waffles, being Sunday. For lunch, we had spinach and ricotta tortellini with tomato sauce, a real comfort food meal. Once a week I make a big pot of tomato sauce with 4 other vegetables and I put it in jars, so we always have home-made tomato sauce at hand. As the pasta was fresh, it makes it an extremely quick meal to cook and it is ever so satisfying!
Comfort food - chicken in soya sauce and honey
For dinner we had chicken drumsticks marinated in soya sauce and honey with salad and corn on the cob. Easy, healthy, comfortable.

How was your Sunday?
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

