Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

DIY FRAME KEY HOLDER

2 Comments

For years I didn’t have a place in the house in which to leave the house and car keys . I usually left them in my bag, which was a problem when I changed bags or when I had 3 bags in use, or in the pocket of my jacket, but then I never remembered which jacket I was wearing last and I would find myself running around the house in a panic. It wasn’t very practical, or very attractive, or good for the nerves, so I decided that I needed a key holder.DIY frame key holder 1
I got a plain wooden frame and three screw hooks. I decided to paint it  and distress it before using it as the base of my key holder (to make it extra special).Frame and screw hooks
I gave the frame a couple of layers with Country Grey Annie Sloan Chalk paint. Once dry, I sanded it with a small piece of fine-grade sand paper paying special attention to the edges, I then applied a coat of clear wax and polished it with a cloth.Painting the frameSanding the frame Clear waxAdding a string and ribbon
Once the frame is finished, you only have to screw in the hooks. I got greedy and I wanted the frame to double up as a tiny message board, so I decided to add some twine to hang photos or messages from. I turned the frame around and I secured the twine with a staple gun. I also added some ribbon to hang the frame with.DIY frame key holderKey holderKey holder with ribbon
It has become habit to hang the keys on the holder as we come into the house, so there is no running around like headless chickens in panic when we leave. No sir. At least not because of the keys, anyway… 🙂
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

2 thoughts on “DIY FRAME KEY HOLDER

  1. Pingback: HOME-MADE PRESENTS | Organising Chaos

  2. Pingback: MY 5 FAVORITE UP-CYCLE PROJECTS | Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

