Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON : A DRAGON’S NEST CAKE

Leave a comment

Children’s parties at home are hard enough to organise. The decorations, the food, drinks and snacks for the adults… and then there is the cake.

I used to make the boy’s cakes for their birthday parties, but I stopped this year. Baking a cake when you have so many other things to do, and a tiny fridge like we do, is too time consuming .  I prefer spend my time making dips, putting decorations up…. it’s more my kind of thing.

I decided that this year I would buy a cake, a tasty chocolate (a must in my house) cake and decorate it myself. I had an idea in my head of how I wanted the cake to look. After a tiny amount of effort and even less time, our How To Train a Dragon Cake that was very cool indeed. My kids loved it. Chaotic Monkey was so impressed and proud of his cake that he kept showing it off to all his friends. All the kids very fascinated and jealous, and of course it got eaten (inhaled) in seconds.

My idea was to make a dragon’s nest on the cake, so I got some chocolate fingers and some chocolate mini eggs – a chocolate feast!How To Train your Dragon cake - what you needI made a circle with the chocolate fingers on one corner of the cake and I filled it with the eggs. I also scattered some eggs around the cakeMake a nest for a How to Train Your Dragon nest full of eggs for a How to Train Your Dragon partyHow to Train your Dragon nest cake Wrap the nest with a piece of string in order to get all the eggs in and then make sure Toothless is looking after the nest.

How to Train your Dragon - Toothless cakeHow to Train your Dragon - Toothless' nest cakeThe entire cake make-up took about 5 minutes and then I had a coffee (or two). The party was a huge success. I even “pimped” a second cake as everyone wanted more.

Are you feeling inspired? Have a great day,

Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

Leave a Reply

