Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

DIY KITCHEN ROLL HOLDER

3 Comments

I don’ t know if anyone uses kitchen paper as much as we do in our house. We can safely say that it is an integral part of my kitchen. We use it for everything!  And because we use it a lot, it gets moved a lot, so I never know where it is. As I mentioned before, I like the idea of having a place for everything and everything in its place. At the moment, it’s still only an idea, a concept that I aspire to. I am working towards making it a reality. One (microscopic) step at a time.

I have been thinking of how to solve the “Where is the kitchen roll?” dilemma in our house.

I thought about getting a roll stand, but I knew that it would move along with the roll so it would be no good. I wanted something that would have a “fixed address” in the kitchen without having to drill any holes anywhere. So I decided to make one out of a hanger. It is super easy and fun to make and it provides a lovely home for my kitchen paper.

Get a wire hanger. One of those that you get back from the dry cleaners after you have giving them your garments in a wooden hanger (bitter? me? not at all!).
DIY Kitchen Paper roll holder with pom pom - just because
Make a cut in the middle of the right side of the hanger.
Cutting a wire hanger to make a kitchen roll holder
As hangers tend to be quite wide, it is best to reshape it to a slightly longer length than the kitchen roll. By doing this, you will end up with extra wire on the cut side. Bend it back and secure it with tape.
Cut and bend the hanger - DIY kitchen roll holder
Cut small pieces of your chosen tape and start wrapping it around the wire. I used washi tape for this project because I love it and it has so many patterns that it allows you to make it as fun or as formal as you want. Wrap the tape all around the hanger.
DIY Kitchen Paper Roll Holder
When you are finished, bend each end in the shape of hooks so you can close the holder once the kitchen roll is in. I decided to embellish my holder by adding a pom pom to it.
DIY Kitchen Paper roll holder with pom pom - just because
Now I know when my kitchen paper roll always is and it just looks so pretty.

Have an inspired day,
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

3 thoughts on “DIY KITCHEN ROLL HOLDER

  1. Pingback: HOW TO STORE JEWELLERY | Organising Chaos

  2. Pingback: ORGANISING YOUR JEWELLERY | Organising Chaos

  3. Pingback: DIY SILHOUETTE CUSHIONS | Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

