Organising Chaos

trying to bring beauty and order into a busy life

HOME-MADE GOO GONE

2 Comments

Hi lovely people! How are you all in this beautiful September morning? 

Today I want to share with you a great tip that will help you remove all those bits of glue left behind when you remove stickers or labels from any container. I love this recipe as I am always reusing containers for all kinds of projects. The results are amazing. All gone. Sparkling clean. Good as new.

This recipe works brilliantly in glass but I wan’t sure if it would work equally well on plastic. I had few plastic bowls that I used for Big Monkey’s Spiderman party with stickers on them and I just couldn’t remove the glue (it looks like Spiderman stickers have super sticky powers!). The mixture worked its wonders in the plastic bowl also and it left no scratches, which was one of my concerns.

“What is that marvellous recipe?” I hear you say.
Well, something as simple as equal parts of oil and baking powder, something most people have in the house.
 
Homemade Goo Gone - oil and baking powder

 

Homemade Goo Gone 2 ingredients - oil and baking powder
Put the mixture on top of the residue you want to remove and rub for few seconds. The baking powder works as an abrasive and the oil helps remove all the residue. Leave the mixture for 30 minutes or so and then give the container a wash to remove the  mixture. 
Homamade Goo Gone - apply the mixture - only oil and baking powder
Ta dah!!! The residue is gone and you can go ahead and reuse the container for anything.
Goo gone homemade - oil and baking powder - reuseGoo gone homemade - oil and baking powder and reuse!Goo gone homemade - simply oil and baking powder
Let me know how you get on with this!
 
Chaotic Itzi

Author: chaoticitzi

My name is Itzi. I am a Spanish girl living in Ireland with the three boys of my life. I am a firm believer in up-cycling, that beauty makes us happy and that pretty things don't have to be expensive. I love my family, coffee and the sun. Thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy it Chaotic Itzi

2 thoughts on “HOME-MADE GOO GONE

  1. Pingback: INFUSED OLIVE OIL : LEMON, CHILLI AND ROSEMARY | Organising Chaos

  2. Pingback: MAKING EASY DECORATIONS – CANDLES & WASHI TAPE | Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

